The Death of Someone Who Loved Me Well My Entire Life…

by irenedavid

My father died 10 days ago.  He was 91, in frail health, so it was an incredible blessing that he died quickly and at home.

Because of his health in recent years, and his age, I was unprepared for the intense grief I have felt and continue to feel.  In fact, the emotions have been stronger this week than they were the week after his death.

My dad was not a perfect man, but he loved fiercely and consistently.  He adored my mother, and some of my ache is for her lonlieness upon losing her husband, lover and best friend of 66 years and 9 months.

He was a frugal, sensible man who strove to live a life of kindness, compassion and love.  As a follower of Jesus Christ, he believed that knowing Christ well, and demonstrating Christ’s love for others were the most important things he could do.

It is a sad, sad thing to lose someone who has loved you well for your entire life.

