Enough already…

by irenedavid

Tomorrow is the 2nd anniversary of my most awful, terrible, really bad day.  In the past two years, I have listened to a lot of Christian speakers, read a lot of Christian authors, spent a lot of time on my knees praying to Christ to remake me.

I have listened to several sermons by Louis Giglio in the last couple of weeks.  He’s a dynamic speaker and very engaging.

I wondered if he had children, so I “Googled” him, and, of course, a number of articles about him popped up, including articles about how dangerous he is.

Now before someone starts spouting “end times” and “tribulation” at me, let me say right off the bat, I’m an amillenialist.    Amillennialism (Greek: a- “no” + millennialism) is the mainstream Christian end-times theology, named for its rejection of the theory that Jesus Christ will have a literal, thousand-year-long, physical reign on the earth.       Which means I don’t subscribe to end times prophecies that enthrall so many Christians today.  I do not believe, that even if there were going to be a millenial reign, I am supposed to obsess over every day of my life.  Jesus said we should be prepared for His return—does that mean only when we think it’s close?  No, we are called to live every day revealing and reflecting the glory of Christ and His love for us and others.  Why the need for any “end times” dogma there?

I have yet to hear Giglio say anything I found dangerous; maybe I will at some point, but it is time for Christians to quit nitpicking other Christians.  If someone’s focus is on sharing the love, grace and mercy of Jesus Christ with others, and that it is through His grace alone that we become whole, healed and redeemed, then DON’T play semantics and get so wrapped up in how someone pronounces “potato.”

We Christians are horrible to each other WAY TOO OFTEN!

Luke 9:50
“Do not stop him,” Jesus said, “for whoever is not against you is for you.”

Blessings.

