Merry Christmas….

by irenedavid

It’s 10:55 p.m., December 24, 2013.  I’m still downstairs, which is unusual for me at this time of night.   It’s been a long day, too.  We’ve spent time with family and then made the 150 mile drive home to a house with not a single gift wrapped and the kitchen cluttered with all sorts of bags and sacks of fruit, avocados, and other grocery items.

We got home about 5:30 and planned to stay in the rest of the evening.  We had no plans for Christmas Eve with our kids.  We will all get together on December 26.  But dear friends called and asked us if we wanted to come over to their house, so we went.

We had a great time, ate a little, played a game, and laughed a lot.  They are precious friends.

After having a really great week last week, I was sailing along smoothly until we received word of a financial decision that we have to make ( a really unfair decision, in my opinion).  I hate financial hitches.   And then, while visiting with my elderly parents today, they received a call that the person who was coming in to be home help tomorrow was too sick to come.  My siblings that live in the same town will be over to see them, but they really can’t be left alone for very long.  So, my husband and I are about to leave to return to our home when my mom gets this call, and suddenly, there is the worry about what to do, and the guilt I feel about not living closer.

I have made some good progress in not being overwhelmed by things that upset me.   But, it’s Christmas time and money woes and elderly parent woes all add up to getting home and crying.

I still can’t figure out why, if God wants us to know Him better, He makes us go through these life gyrations on earth.  Laughing with good friends can take your mind off of uncomfortable issues for a while, but the litter that gets thrown on the side of the road in your life seems to be endless, even if there are stretches that are nearly litter-free.

There is still so much that is unfathomable.

Happy Birthday, Jesus.

