I think we’ve truly turned a corner…

by irenedavid

I’m almost afraid to say that out loud.  It’s been a long, painful at times, 18 months.

My husband is in a Christian recovery group, well, so am I, now.  He is doing really well, and he’s been given a chance to earn a living with a charity here in town by helping them raise money and keep track of everything they do.

We have been blessed with two granddaughters this year.  So incredibly blessed.  Our daughters were and are fantastic, wonderful children, and holding their children just multiplies the joy.

I can actually say that there have been some positive changes in the way I perceive life.  God has been good in sticking with me and returning me to a wonderful therapist that God has worked through to help me begin the process of forgiving and not hating myself.

I still wonder what’s ahead of me.  I’ll be 57 in two months.  I’d love to go to college and get a degree in counseling, but we don’t have the money for tuition or for me to work less hours, and I’m not so sure my brain is still agile enough to do the work it would take to get a degree.

When does a dream become just a selfish desire?  It has been difficult for me to believe it was okay for me to have dreams after all that has happened.

18 months ago, 12 months ago, I would never have believed we would be where we are now.  I am deeply grateful.  And my cup is filled to overflowing when I hold a grandbaby.

