Nicks, Cuts, Scrapes, Bruises and Burns…

by irenedavid

You know, a body can take some big hits physically and, if properly attended to, can recover to 100% in many instances.  Sometimes, it can recover even without the professional attention.

The spirit, as well, can come back from some heavy blows, albeit more slowly, I believe, than the body does.  And I think it doesn’t do well without some professional help, and even then, God forbid if you pick the wrong professional.  The wounds to the spirit that are not taken care of in the proper way seem to just multiply into more damage.

The body can receive so many nicks, cuts, scrapes, bruises and burns that it experiences so much localized pain and an overall feeling of great discomfort that the person that inhabits that body just wants to stay immobile in a comfortable position, or, if possible, sleep as much as possible.

A spirit that has taken heavy hits over the course of a lifetime, without having help recover, struggles a great deal to function in this life.  One that enters a span of time where there are nicks, cuts, scrapes, bruises and burns nearly every day on top of the old hits is a spirit that starts to hold less and less tightly to the buoy of hope.  It’s not even a matter of not being able to hold on—it becomes a matter of not wanting to hold on.

People will tell you God will not give you more than you are able to bear, but that is not scripturally accurate.  That was said in relation to temptation.

I have no dreams or desires anymore.  I don’t feel entitled, and if I don’t dream of anything better, then I can’t be disappointed.

There’s not a place in my spirit that has not had some kind of injury inflicted upon it.  So while I will not leave this life by my own hand because I love my grandkids too much to give them that to deal with, I don’t think what I’m doing most of the day anymore is living.  It is just surviving.

Is this the abundant life?

