How Can it be Trying too Hard When I’ve Been Such a Lazy Christian?

by irenedavid

My moods have been all over the place the last two weeks. I have gone from feeling like a slug to feeling like I was truly a dearly loved child of God, and back down again. So here’s a bunch of one-liners to sum up my last 14 days.

Both of my therapists have told me I’m too hard on myself, that I have unreasonable expectations for myself….How is that possible when I’ve been such a lazy, complacent, smug Christian?

If we accept any of The Gospel (God loves us and Christ died to wipe out our sins) then don’t we have to accept it all? John 14:27 (NIV) 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

My 90-year-old father is showing signs of dementia. How awful is it that I hope he will die in his own bed before he loses his ability to recognize his family?

My daughters still seem to be slightly distant. Will they ever move past what happened in the summer of 2012?

My granddaughters are better than drugs. They lighten my heart.

Sex with your spouse is wonderful, even after 35 years. Especially after 35 years.

This world is incredibly broken. We are horrible to each other; don’t cherish people as we should, especially the ones who can do nothing for us. The passion for ridiculous possessions is out of control. Common courtesy has become rare courtesy. Many Christians are the reason their neighbors want nothing to do with Christ.

I’ve been praying for a raise. I received a $2 an hour raise without even asking.

God loves us. We literally have no idea how much.

Blessings.

