Down From the Ledge

by irenedavid

satan loves to create little rifts that a human’s fear, insecurity, pride, whatever, can turn into a big, yawning chasm between folks.

he’s had so many years’ practice at this that it’s no wonder we continue to fall into the snare, although you would think that, as many times as he’s done this to me and I’ve realized it (albeit often too late), I would recognize it more easily.  But he’s always got something new up his sleeve.

It’s irritating at best because then I or someone I’ve upset has to be talked down from the ledge that satan loves to push us to.

I’d love to write a list of names here that satan deserves to be called, but somehow I think that would be playing right into his hands.  After all, not even the archangel Michael called down curses on satan, but said, “The Lord rebuke you!”

So my “job” is to be on the lookout for satan’s nasty little schemes and then to tell him, “The Lord rebuke you!”  After all, the Lord’s rebuke is a heckuva lot bigger than mine.

1 Peter 5:8

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.
Blessings
