Morning Epiphany revisted…Starting my Theology from Scratch

by irenedavid

I had a therapy session this afternoon.  BTW, I cannot say enough good stuff about my therapist; he is incredibly insightful, but never gets in God’s way.

I decided that there was no point in talking about my anger lists when I was scared of God, so that’s what we talked about.  My therapist said he would rather me be an atheist than to continue to believe in the God I had been believing in.  He said that to hold onto the God of my childhood was to approve of the abuse that happened to me because it had so skewed my perspective of who God was and what He wants from me.

He asked me what the one thing I wanted my daughters to know about me was.  I said I wanted them to know that I loved them.  He said that was where my new theology should start; that I cannot be a better parent than the true God, so the only thing I could say I knew about God was that He loves me at least as much as I love my girls.

So, at 56, I will be learning for myself who God is.  And believe me, I’m going to be very careful about what goes into that definition.  But for a week, all I can say I know about God is that He loves me like I love my daughters.

I think that’s a good start.

Blessings

