If I Ever Get a Verse Tattooed on Me…

by irenedavid

My youngest daughter (who is 29) has Galatians 5:1– “We have freedom now, because Christ made us free. So stand strong. Do not change and go back into the slavery of the law.”–tattooed on her right shoulder. She specifically looked for and found a wedding dress that would show that verse on her wedding day.

I am not wild about tattoos, but hers has started many a conversation with complete strangers and gives her an opportunity to share her faith. Both of my daughters are more spiritually mature than I am. I don’t know how that came to be since they grew up in my house; well, yes I do. It is God’s grace that they are not as screwed up as I am.

I don’t know why it took me so many years to hear God calling me to a truly non-superficial relationship with Him. I am praying that the pain and anguish of this season will make sense to me someday and I will see the purpose in the quantity of heartache.

We have a dear friend who reached out to us after my husband was arrested. He would come over and meet with my husband once a week for the summer and was an accountability partner for him. He has continued to come over once a week and we study the book of Romans. He’s very knowledgeable about the Bible and has read many commentaries, and he’s also a very thoughtful and prayerful man who seeks God. Today, we were in Romans 3–22 God makes people right with himself through their faith in Jesus Christ. This is true for all who believe in Christ, because all people are the same: 23 Everyone has sinned and fallen short of God’s glorious standard, 24 and all need to be made right with God by his grace, which is a free gift. They need to be made free from sin through Jesus Christ.

I have been wrestling with God for months about what I could do or needed to do to make Him love me more. Guess what? I can’t; I’ve got nothing, nada, zip, zilch. Anything “good” in me is God; anything faithful in me is God. I get in His way most of the time. I torture myself with feelings of inferiority, unloveliness, wretchedness, and disgracefulness. Without Christ, I am all those things. But I am redeemed, as in I AM. Not was, not will be, but I AM.

I pray that this reality will sink into me with such force that it undoes me. God’s love should completely undo us.
So, if I ever get a tat, it will probably Romans 3:22-24. Everyone has sinned and all can be made right by God’s FREE GIFT of GRACE.

Blessings.

